Real Leaders Must Have the Drum Major Instinct #MLK –

mlk.jpg
But so shall it not be among you: but whosoever will be great among you, shall be your minister: And whosoever of you will be the chiefest, shall be servant of all. For even the Son of man came not to be ministered unto, but to minister, and to give his life a ransom for many (Mark 10:43-45) ~~ Centuries have come and gone and today He stands as the most influential figure that ever entered human history. All of the armies that ever marched, all the navies that ever sailed, all the parliaments that ever sat, and all the kings that ever reigned put together have not affected the life of man on this earth as much as that one solitary life. His name may be a familiar one. (Jesus) Every now and then somebody says, “He’s King of Kings.”; “He’s Lord of Lords.”; “In Christ there is no East nor West.”; “In Him there’s no North and South, but one great Fellowship of Love throughout the whole wide world.” He didn’t have anything. He just went around serving and doing good… Yes, if you want to say that I was a drum major, say that I was a drum major for justice. Say that I was a drum major for peace. I was a drum major for righteousness. And all of the other shallow things will not matter. I won’t have any money to leave behind. I won’t have the fine and luxurious things of life to leave behind. But I just want to leave a committed life behind. 
 
If I can help somebody as I pass along, If I can cheer somebody with a word or song, If I can show somebody he’s traveling wrong, Then my living will not be in vain. If I can do my duty as a Christian ought, If I can bring salvation to a world once wrought, If I can spread the message as the master taught, Then my living will not be in vain. Yes, Jesus, I want to be on your right or your left side, not for any selfish reason. I want to be on your right or your left side, not in terms of some political kingdom or ambition. But I just want to be there in love and in justice and in truth and in commitment to others, so that we can make of this old world a new world. (Martin Luther King, Jr.; Drum Major Instinct; Feb 4, 1968). 
 
In the Drum Major Instinct speech, Dr. King spoke of how he would like to be remembered…while he was a leader for sure, clearly he had gotten the importance of being a servant-leader! I’d like somebody to mention that day that Martin Luther King, Jr., tried to give his life serving others.  I’d like for somebody to say that day that Martin Luther King, Jr., tried to love somebody. I want you to say that day that I tried to be right on the war question. I want you to be able to say that day that I did try to feed the hungry. And I want you to be able to say that day that I did try in my life to clothe those who were naked. I want you to say on that day that I did try in my life to visit those who were in prison. I want you to say that I tried to love and serve humanity. What an example we had in Dr. King and more prevalent in our Savior Jesus Christ.  What if we all took the drum major mentality?
 
See the Drum Major isn’t just the guy out front.  The Drum major has a LOT of responsibility for the rest of the band! Things like Leading the band through practice runs; Helping rehearsals run smoothly and productively; Leading the band in performance; Adding to the overall showmanship of the band during performance with their own performance as the drum major and setting the standard for discipline, bearing, and conduct for the members of the band to follow. What if we could be the drum major and be the responsible one that helped our communities live smoothly and productively; lead our families in life; present a good example for others to see and set the good example of behavior to follow?
 
How much better would our world be if we followed the Savior’s mentality of Servant-Leader? 
Leave a Reply

