Take Time to #Rest #Renew #Reset

image

Then Jesus said, “Let’s go off by ourselves to a quiet place and rest awhile.” He said this because there were so many people coming and going that Jesus and His apostles didn’t even have time to eat. (Mark 6:31)~ How many hours do you think you work a week? 50? 70? It’s amazing if I chart the hours I work each week, counting the times I work at home, not just the projects, but the conference calls and late calls (including checking voicemail and e-mail). It’s a wonder I even have time to stop and eat, especially when I add the things I do at home to the mix. When do you get a chance to refresh, renew and replenish your life, your spirit, your health, your body. People say you only live once, but are you living or just working yourself to an early grave? My late Grandmother used to tell me in her own ’southern’ draw “baby you ain’t no iron – you got to rest”. Now, years later I realize what she meant by that. There are some of us that think we can’t function unless we are going 100 MPH with our hair on fire! It is a trick of the enemy to make you overwork and be so busy occupied with the things of this life; careers, activities, events and busy-work; that you miss going through this life! And you work your mind and body so much you become exhausted to the point that your body can’t respond to the call of the Spirit. You might think you’re living a great life by being so busy and always on the move and always doing this or that, but is your life really fulfilling? You’re so busy that you gather impressions but have no experiences, you make acquaintances but make no friends, you attend events and church and meetings but experience no encounter…your work is never done. You’re keeping up so much NOISE that you miss that still, small voice of the Lord speaking to you… I think you get the point… How’s that really working for you? Look my friend, we all know that on the seventh day, God rested (Gen 2:2). But, God did not rest as one weary (because we know the Lord never sleeps or slumbers), but as one well pleased. He took that day of rest to stop and reflect. There has to be a point in your life where you shut it down – take that vacation, that weekend, that day off…and enjoy the blessings around you. There are benefits to what God placed before you and there is output even from your own works…that you need to get to enjoy. What’s so great about all that you work so hard for if you can’t enjoy it? That career..will be there when you get back. Those people that depend on you so much, will manage and might even impress you with their resourcefulness. Yes, you only live once but I often see this when I think about all I just HAVE to do: My family knows I’m doing it FOR them, but sometimes, they’d love to just have me doing it WITH them! Take some time and REST…GOD did it…Jesus did it…and I’m about to do it…what about you???

My pastor Joseph W. Walker III wrote a book called Reset Your Life. Reading it while you rest might just change your perspective and make you a new person when you come back. Try it!

Leave a Reply

