God Pressed My #Reset Button->

reset button
Create in me a clean heart, O God, And renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me away from Your presence, And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of Your salvation. And uphold me by Your generous Spirit. Then I will teach transgressors Your ways, And sinners shall be converted to You. Deliver me from the guilt of bloodshed, O God, The God of my salvation, And my tongue shall sing aloud of Your righteousness. O Lord, open my lips, And my mouth shall show forth Your praise (Ps 51:10-15)~~ The knowledge and remembrance of the guilt of sins on our heads are our constant source of torment; a dark cloud that hangs over us! If this blood of Christ, which cleanses from all sin, cleanses us from our sin, then we are clean indeed. We are comforted, when we are first cleansed; if sin, the bitter root of sorrow, be taken away, we can pray in faith: “Lord, Let me have a well-grounded peace, of thy creating, so that the bones broken by convictions may rejoice, may be comforted. Hide thy face from my sins; blot out all mine iniquities out of thy book; blot them out, as a cloud is blotted out and dispelled by the beams of the sun.”
We desire renewal to holiness as much as the joy of salvation. We now see, more than ever, what an unequaled heart we have, and sadly lament it. We see it is not in our own power to amend it, and therefore beg God would create in us a clean heart. When we feel this change is necessary, and read the promise of God to that purpose, we begin to ask it. We know we have by our sin grieved the Holy Spirit, and have provoked Him to withdraw. This we dread more than anything. We pray that Divine comforts may be restored to us. When we give ourselves cause to doubt our interest in salvation, how can we expect the joy of it? This makes us weak; we feel ready to fall, either into sin or into despair, therefore we pray that God uphold us with His Spirit.
The Spirit of God is a free Spirit, a free Agent Himself, working freely. And the more cheerful we are in our duty, the more constant we shall be to it. What is this but the liberty wherewith Christ makes His people free, which is contrasted with the yoke of bondage? It is the Spirit of Divine adoption by Him – spoken to the heart. Those to whom God is the God of salvation, He will deliver from guilt; for the salvation He is the God of, is salvation from sin! We may therefore plead with Him, “Lord, thou art the God of my salvation, therefore deliver me from the dominion of sin!” And when our lips are opened, what should they speak but the praises of God for His forgiving mercy! We have SO much more to praise in that God saw us in this state and set our blessings in motion even before our ask! While our actions and ways were justification for Him to withdraw from us, He stayed right there! Like the father welcoming the prodigal son home, God welcomes us back to Himself with open arms!
God Pressed My Reset Button
Hallelujah!
Leave a Reply

