#MLK Had a Dream; A Vision; Do You? –

Martin-Luther-King-Jr.-Art-02

Where there is no vision, the people perish: but he that keepeth the law, happy is he. (Proc 29:18)~ A man has a vision of the house to keep it in order. Without this vision, the house runs amuck. Companies have a vision by the way of policies and by-laws to set standards for how they operate. Without them, there are no guidelines for the company to exist and failure is imminent. Governments have a vision that is carried out when they make laws to set guidelines for how their societies should function. Absence of these laws invites absolute chaos. These rules, laws and guidelines are the visions of those entities. This is a practice modeled from God’s own mind in the Word He provides us. That Word is an open vision; a plan, which holds forth Christ, which humbles the sinner and exalts the Savior, which promotes holiness in the life and conversation: and these are precious truths to keep the soul alive, and prevent it from perishing. Without the principles and revelation of His Word, morality is a free-for-all in a tailspin…there is a total loss of social order and humanity is primed for devastation…the people imminently perish; what an easy prey it is to the enemy of souls! Without a vision, we don’t know which way to go! Without a vision, our reasoning and intelligence have no basis. Without a vision, we don’t do things on sound principles and doctrine, but on what “works for us”…. although it’s really just what feels good to do and what makes us “happy” at the time. But that happiness is short lived as the ever dissatisfied heads of desire, greed, jealousy, envy and lust plant themselves in our lives masked as ambition, strong will and determination. And because we have no vision of righteousness, we find ourselves down an unguided path to destruction.  Freedoms are to be fought for, celebrated and embraced, but must also be exercised with restraint and sound direction.  Without the guidance of sound vision, the very freedoms we cherish become our destroyers.

Martin Luther King, Jr.’s “I Have a Dream” speech is one of the most famous speeches in American history and defining a moment in our country. The vision of that speech was a catalyst in what helped shape modern America. Over 50 years ago, that vision began a change that while by no means is complete, has set the direction for where we look to be as a people. If we are to see the reality of Dr. King’s dream, we must in our own lives, live out a vision – BEING the change we want to see….or like the Word of God says, we will surely perish. So as a father that few up without his father being present, I have set my vision on making sure my children grow up with theirs and that they know what a father is supposed to be! So, I take a step back and look at how I’m doing as a father. Dr. King saw problems and a lack of progress in our country. In the same way, I sometimes see a lack of progress in myself as a father. And there are other times when it seems like my kids are not free to experience and achieve all I hope they should—due to my shortcomings and failures as a father.

To sum it up, sometimes I feel like I could be better as a dad. So I too have a dream – to be a good father – something I never got to experience. Not that I would bash my father, wherever he is, it’s not that kind of discussion – I actually hold no grudge against him because in his absence, I’ve had to grow on my own to become the man I am and that’s made me to be what I consider a very good man, husband and father; but for my children, even though I face the challenges of fatherhood today and tomorrow, I still have a dream. It is a dream that I would hope to be deeply rooted in every father…

  • I have a dream that I will raise my kids to be successful people who give more than they receive from society
  • I have a dream that my kids will have great relationships with one another, void of any sibling rivalry.
  • I have a dream that my kids will respect others, even when in disagreement, and will not accept disrespect from anyone.
  • I have a dream that my kids will make great loving spouses, become engaged parents, and build strong families.
  • I have a dream that my kids will discover their passions in life and pursue them boldly and effectively.
  • I have a dream that my kids will learn relational truth and love other people well
  • I have a dream that my kids will grow up to be better versions of me and my wife and teach the same values to their kids
When all is said, my dream is that the life my kids’ lives will be proof that they were loved, led, and raised by a great dad. God’s grace in my life and the knowledge of Dr. King’s dream opened the door for me to have a vision of my own and the faith and courage to pursue and seize the reality of it. Yes, I have a dream, that when men live out this vision, by the power and the plan of Almighty God, the integrity of the ‘family’ will be forever maintained and irrevocably strengthened!
Leave a Reply

