#GodsDiscipline – I’d rather be chastened in love than cast aside in ignorance —

gods-discipline

For whom the Lord loveth He chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom He receiveth. If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the Father chasteneth not? (Heb 12:6-7); Behold, happy is the man whom God correcteth: therefore despise not thou the chastening of the Almighty (Job 5:17)~~ Sometimes God allows afflictions in our lives to correct a behavior, change a habit or get our attention focused on Him. Understanding this as part of the work He does in us to develop us is vital to our growth in Him. Call it a chastening, coming from God’s love, for our good; and notice it as a messenger from Heaven. Correction by affliction mortifies our corruptions, weans our heart from the world, draws us nearer to God, brings us to our Bible, and brings us to our knees. Though God wounds us, He supports us under afflictions, and in due time delivers us. Making a wound is sometimes part of the cure. We must remain faithful that all will be ordered for the best. Steadiness of mind and heart under trials, is one of the highest attainments of faith. There is little exercise for faith when things go well, but if God raises a storm, permits the enemy to send wave after wave, and seemingly stands distant from our prayers, then, for us still to hang on and trust God, when we cannot trace Him, this is the patience of the saints. Be encouraged that our times are in God’s hands; and it is well they are so. In faith we may come to be happy though we are afflicted, for we haven’t lost our enjoyment of God, nor our title to Heaven. If God were to just let us ‘be’ in our erroneous ways, we would surely fall away, victim rather than beneficiary to our own circumstance. Instead, I joy in my infirmities, knowing it is the love of God protecting me, even from myself. If He didn’t ‘whip my butt’ sometimes, what manner of child am I to Him? I’m glad that He’s not that distant, uncaring or missing Father who would ignore me but rather the one that would never leave nor forsake me; the one that stays with me in all things, leading, guiding and correcting me, even in chastening…that I may know His love. Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me (Ps 23:4). 

Leave a Reply

